Airpark (formerly of The Apache Relay)

Airpark (formerly of The Apache Relay)

Fives, Minimus The Poet

Sun, March 19, 2017

Doors: 6:00 pm / Show: 7:00 pm

$8 ADV $10 DOS

This event is all ages

Airpark makes forward-thinking pop music.

Inspired by melody and groove-heavy percussion, Michael Ford, Jr. and Ben Ford debuted the duo in 2016. Their new musical approach was born after The Apache Relay, a six-piece band armed with a thick, wall-of-sound approach, quietly called it quits.

Airpark's latest EP release, Early Works, Volume 2, will be released by the band's own label, Eugenia Hall Records, on September 15, 2017. The release arrives six months after their debut, Early Works, Volume 1, which showcased the duo's ability to create evocative moments with the most minimal of instrumentation.

That sense of minimalism gave way to something heartier as the band began touring the country in early 2017, playing more than 100 shows during the year. Along the way, Airpark bolstered its ranks to a four-piece band for live performances. As the musicians played together, their evolving atmospheric grooves made room for synthesizers, brotherly harmonies, syncopated guitars, melodic hooks and a globally-percussive punch. The foundation for Volume 2 was in place.

Back home in Nashville, Airpark recorded Early Works, Volume 2, with engineer and co-producer Ryan McFadden (Torres, Tony Joe White). The tracks were mixed by engineer Gavin Paddock (ZZ Ward, Valerie June) and mastered by Brian Lucey (Black Keys, Arctic Monkeys). A bold expansion of the band's original sound, these four songs show the brothers' ability to connect with the listener in both the loudest and most intimate of songs.

Michael comes to terms with his inner rage in the propulsive "Le Tigre," then woos a potential lover in "Dream Beam," whose chorus finds him howling falsetto melodies over a nocturnal, bedroom beat. To close the collection, Ben assumes the front man role on "Blue Eyed Spaniard," resulting in arguably the EP’s most ambitious moment.

Airpark’s evolution on Early Works, Volume 2 targets the feet and the head. It's pop music for thinkers. It’s the sound of two brothers continuing to create art with little outside help, pairing their own ambition with musical chops to match.
FIVES was formed in Baltimore, MD by lead vocalist Marc Cashin and keyboardist Matthew White and went through several line-up changes before finally coming together with current members Nate Lanzino, Billy Totti, and Jake Tate in 2015. The band’s sound is a combination of acoustic based rock and indie pop."

In June 2010, FIVES released its first independent EP, A Brief History. The album was recorded mostly live at Grammy award winning Bias Studios, in Springfield VA. The album’s release represents a turning point in the band, propelling FIVES into more live shows and a realization that audiences connected with the group.

In the spring of 2015 FIVES performed a standing room only showcase in Austin Texas during the SXSW Film & Music Festival. FIVES has opened for national touring acts such as O-Town and The Vespers.

FIVES new EP called Heart & Thunder was released Aug 5, 2016. Skope Magazine describes the album as "a perfect collection of jams." The album is available at:

Buy it on iTunes

Listen on Apple Music

Listen on Spotify We've also added a band called Revel in Romance to the bill. We're just waiting on an acoustic act to confirm but that will be it.!/revelinromance/?fref=ts
Minimus The Poet
Minimus The Poet
Venue Information:
Metro Gallery
1700 North Charles Street
Baltimore, MD, 21201